IGNORED

Permanent elevated blind

Swamp_Yankee

This is my first year hunting my property, which is a swampy area on the edge of a field.  Right now I'm hunting out of a climber so that I can change it up and try a few different spots.  Once I find the best spot based on travel patterns, winds, etc...I want to put in some kind of permanent stand.  The thread about boots and gloves got me thinking about some kind of elevated blind since I have the luxury of putting up something permanent.  Obviously putting up a built stand is not rocket science, but putting one up that's going to last requires more than just nailing stuff to a tree.  As it turns out, there is a whole industry built around this stuff as commercially built treehouses (used as camping cabins, vacation houses, etc...) are all the rage these days.  There are special bolt anchors, etc...that will allow the structure to move a bit as the tree grows, and will negate the tendency of the tree to "compartmentalize" or sacrifice parts of itself that become damaged as a result of a bunch of nails or screws being pounded into it.  They're pretty pricey though.  Another cheaper method is to put eyebolts into the tree and suspending the floor of whatever you're building from laminated steel cable.  Might make for an interesting spring project.  Essentially I'm looking to build a small "treehouse" that will serve as a blind/way to keep heat in and wind off that would be just big enough for me and one of my kids.  I'll also be able to clearly see it from our pond, so I'd like it to not look like crap either.  Post some pictures (inside and out) of your elevated blinds whether they're in trees or not.  I could use some ideas.  

I live back in the woods you see

My woman and the kids and the dogs and me

I got a shotgun a rifle and a four wheel drive and a country boy can survive