IGNORED

Sitting Gobbler

yamar

I just wrapped up a lunchtime hunt and found a gobbler at around 80 yards.  I called to him a bit and he strutted for a few seconds and then sat down in the tall grass.  I moved along the field edge to get closer and eventually got in at about 30 yards.  I watched and did some soft calling for about 30 mins but he would not stand up.  I had a perfect shot at him for almost the full 30 mins but it seemed to me that he was nestling in the grass to protect himself from the wind.  I decided not to take the shot because it didn’t feel right to me.  Just curious to know what the general consensus is around taking a shot at a gobbler sitting in a field.  It didn’t feel like fair chase to me but curious to see what you experienced hunters think.

(this is my first year turkey hunting)

36 minutes ago, yamar said:

I just wrapped up a lunchtime hunt and found a gobbler at around 80 yards.  I called to him a bit and he strutted for a few seconds and then sat down in the tall grass.  I moved along the field edge to get closer and eventually got in at about 30 yards.  I watched and did some soft calling for about 30 mins but he would not stand up.  I had a perfect shot at him for almost the full 30 mins but it seemed to me that he was nestling in the grass to protect himself from the wind.  I decided not to take the shot because it didn’t feel right to me.  Just curious to know what the general consensus is around taking a shot at a gobbler sitting in a field.  It didn’t feel like fair chase to me but curious to see what you experienced hunters think.

(this is my first year turkey hunting)