IGNORED

Got my EAB Doe...strange tracking

dlist777

Out in Zone 8 yesterday afternoon.  Around 2pm this doe comes behind me.  She presents a bunch of times but I'm waiting for a perfect shot.  I also keep checking to make sure no fawns are around.  I confirm she's alone.  She finally presents complete broadside at 20 yards.  I shoot her right around 3pm.  This is my 4th season and my 3rd doe (got skunked the first year, one a year since)....so I'm still pretty new at tracking etc.  

I'm pretty sure it's a good hit.  I can tell by the sound it hit her solid.  She runs in a zig zag pattern for like 15 seconds, goes into the thick stuff and I don't hear her anymore.  I don't hear a crash either...just nothing.  

To be safe, I wait a full hour and get down around 4pm.  I find my arrow right away.  Solid blood...appears pink to me.  But I can NOT find any blood trail whatsoever.  I follow where I think she went (but it's hard to tell once you get down from the tree) and I can't find anything.  Nothing at all.  Its so weird.  It's thick where I hunt and I'm pretty sure she's close.  I'm thinking:  "Man, you did everything right but if you don't find this deer soon it's going to be a waste in this heat!"  I was starting to get depressed.  

Anyway, I finally just resort to a grid search and find her not 30 yards away.  But not a drop of blood on any leaf until I see her body.  When I field dress her, I see that I got both lungs and her chest is absolutely full with blood, but very little made its way out.  Odd (at least bsaesd on my limited experience).  Maybe she collapsed so quick it didn't have time to come out?  There was a decent (though not huge) exit hole.  Anyway, glad I found her and now I can try for that buck.  

BTW, took her to Tom the Butcher.  There were 6-7 deer already (on a weekday) there and he said he had well over 100 so far.  

20160915_165111.jpg

20160915_180244.jpg

20160915_185950.jpg