IGNORED

Question for electricians.

Lunatic

I have a 20 amp breaker which feeds my basement. Like basements go all outlets and lights are on it and this was never a problem until now. I now have wood lathe and dust collecting system and when I turn the lathe on high RMP, with dust collector on, I blow the fuse. Is there an easy way to correct this?

I'm not an Electrician but I dabble.  

1.  When you say fuse.  I am assuming you are talking about a breaker?  If it is a fuse you definitely need a panel upgrade.

2. If this was my house I would  run 12-3 wire (red, white black) and have a 4 gang box with 2 separate circuits, one for the lathe, and one for the vac.  You can use the 12/3 as long as the 2 breakers are not on the same side of the panel.

3.  Do you have LED's for lighting?  This will also reduce amperage if needed.  

16 minutes ago, Lunatic said:

@1957Buckwhat is so funny? Not enough capital letters and too much punctuation for you? 

No Just that you would ask a question like that when the amp ratings on all that would Answer it. 

Not to leave out you mention a 20 amp breaker and end with BLOWING A FUSE which is it?  Just Funing alls good. 

animated-American-flag-white-background-2018.gif

2 minutes ago, 1957Buck said:

No Just that you would ask a question like that when the amp ratings on all that would Answer it. 

Not to leave out you mention a 20 amp breaker and end with BLOWING A FUSE which is it?  Just Funing alls good. 

If you only sometimes recognized you don’t know or understand everything you could be a wise old man. It would lead you to learning and improving your knowledge. As it is you are just a jolly old man. 

13 minutes ago, tjfslaughter said:

I'm not an Electrician but I dabble.  

1.  When you say fuse.  I am assuming you are talking about a breaker?  If it is a fuse you definitely need a panel upgrade.