IGNORED

Reloading Rifle Ammo

yoda4x4

I'm about to pick up a Savage 110 Tactical LH in 308 and would like to see how small I can get the groups. And from everything I've read, maximum accuracy is always achieved by reloading. Does anyone here reload rifle ammo? I've never done it before and would like to hear from someone who does.

David

Sent from my moto g(6) play using Tapatalk

I do.  What would you like to know? 
Are you only reloading for that 308?
I would only be reloading for the 308.
Same here, welcome to the world of accuracy. What is it you are looking to achieve? Hunting, target, both?

Sent via carrier pigeon
For now it would be target.
What county are you in? Lots of knowledge here on the forum but having a local assist you would get you off to a great start. My groups from factory Ammo go from 1.25” down to .5” at 100 yards with 3 of my guns.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Middlesex County

David

308 will be an accurate round but if you are going to reload, it opens up your options to other rounds like 260, 6.5 Creedmoor, 7mm-08 etc...   these should match the accuracy of the 308  but have less recoil and be better for long range when it comes to wind drift and trajectory.

If you are set on the 308 and only shooting targets, i'd look at Sierra 168 MatchKings for the bullet,  Hodgdon Varget for powder and Federal 210 Large Rifle primers as a starting point.  

If you want for hunting and target i'd look at 165 ballistic tips for the bullet or a sierra gameking.  

Lots of options but i would still recommend you start with the equipment list i first listed. Would be happy to walk you through any questions over the phone.  pm me your number if interested. 

The .308 is a fine cartridge. When you get started with your reloading find the max over all length of the cartridge and back it off a few thousands. This will get you on the road to tighter groups the fastest.