IGNORED

What Reel

1957Buck

Just about any stocking foot breathable waders will work. Felt soles or Corkers wading shoes. Get the wading shoes one size larger than your normal shoe size.

Fly reels can be controversial. Some will say to get a real expensive one. I disagree.  I have been flyfishing for 40 years with a Pflueger Medalist. It is an inexpensive reel with a simple but effective drag system. I don't think they make it anymore, for that matter I don't think Pflueger is still in business. ( If you ever saw the movie "A River Runs Through It", it takes place in the 1920's, the Brad Pitt character fly fishes with a Pflueger Medalist)These reels can often be found at garage sales. I often check out garage sales for Medalist parts. I have about five spools for mine with different line. The downside to these old reels is changing spools is somewhat difficult while with a modern reel it is effortless. I also have a Phish-n-Fun reel on my 4wt rod. This is relatively inexpensive and works fine. I think it was less than$100 on Amazon. 

Edited by 230jhp

4 hours ago, 230jhp said:

Just about any stocking foot breathable waders will work. Felt soles or Corkers wading shoes. Get the wading shoes one size larger than your normal shoe size.