IGNORED

STP, but not for your car!

WWKimba

I have a VERY BAD combination of being a fly tyer and living by the credo of - "He who dies with the most toys wins!" - a TERRIBLE combination of traits.  I like to buy a lifetime's supply of tying materials if I get the chance.  My problem is I did this when I was in my early 20's (which is OK) BUT now in my mid-60's I am STILL buying the same amount I did when I was in my 20's!!

Well I wanted to tie with polypropylene - blame Josephine Sedlecky -Borsum and her Hot Mustard pattern and Lee Clark with his stonefly series!  So I saw that 5 yard carded spools cost ~$1.75 (at that time) and me just knowing that 5 measly yards would not last that long, I looked for a larger source.  Enter Bonnie Cord in 100 YARD, EIGHT STRAND cord for $6 per roll.  I bought 6 basic colors to try it out and about 2 weeks later bought just a few more colors (well, 20+ more colors!) and I've been tying with it for the past 5 years or so AND giving it out as gifts in my fly swaps,,,  Well, I figure I'll get at least one room backin my house in another 10 years or so!

Here are a couple styles of dry flies to use up some of that backlog - the STP and DLP series.

STP stands for Split Thread Poly (DLP = Doubbing Loop Poly) - these are simply paraloop style flies replacing the poly in for the dry fly hackle.  I like it because I can add subtle colors to the post for effects.  One example is that orange is a great attractor color when the sun is low in the sky - orange sky/orange fly.  If the pattern calls for a dun paraloop wing, I can substitute dun poly forthe standard pattern and then add a bit of orange for the evening variation of the same fly.

Here are some examples:

image.thumb.jpeg.9e9f9857fc5daca880517e4c7f69b9c5.jpeg

image.thumb.jpeg.87e295bb1754553271272c15007a9367.jpeg