Gobblengrunt

Nice 8pt down trad style!

The last couple of weeks have been very slow for me finding big deer on public land. I spooked my target buck (150" plus) early in the season one morning and never seen him or got a pic of him again! After endless scouting and putting out trail cams, I located another big 8pt that I have been hunting for two years in a different area than I've ever seen him in. The sign showed a lot of deer using this area but my new target buck was only seen on cam in the dark going into a new bedding area. I decided to hunt this area for the first time ever this morning because of the sign, cameras don't tell everything. I walked the 1.5 mile back and settled in my tree by 530 am. I seen a few does at 7 am and thought its always a great day in Jersey's "big" woods when you see any deer. At 8am I watched a beautiful 4pt make his way to the white oak I was using as a "feeder". He gorged himself on acorns when he suddenly went on high alert looking intensely at something behind me. I heard quiet steps coming to my direction. I could not move but watching the 4pt's reaction, I assumed it was a bear coming. As this animal walked towards me, I was surprised to see a real nice 8pt that I have never layed eyes on appear at 10 yards! I knew I wanted him immediately. After a few tense moments, this buck gave me a nice 15 yard broadside shot. My 43# recurve zipped a Magnus stinger through both lungs. My buck ran about 125 yards before expiring. Stingers put an easy blood trail to follow. Took me a little over 2 hours to get him out of the woods! Happy day! Thanks for looking

IMG_2968.JPG

IMG_2966.JPG

IMG_2965.JPG

IMG_2964.JPG

IMG_2963.JPG

Edited by Gobblengrunt
  • Agree 43

beautiful buck

I rotated your pictures for ya 

Nice one I screwed up on one like that Saturday evening failed to go thru my mental check list before and while drawing damn, congrats on pulling it off again.