IGNORED

Single bevel heads

not on the rug

I've been using the Helix heads for a couple years and have no complaints. Every deer dropped in sight, the head continues to spin as it goes through the animal creating more wound channel and the Helix are sharp on the backside so they cut on the way out. Another good feature is the single bevel chisel tip which turns as it hits bone splitting it easier. One thing to be aware of is the way the heads spin need to match the way you're arrow spins, so left fletch needs a left spin head.

If you read Dr. Ashby's studies on broadheads he's concluded that the single bevel is the most lethal on big game. They also fly great being the help steer from the front so if the bow is tuned properly they will fly like lasers.

Edited by Hitemnasty

I have used Zwickey "No mercy" single bevels and have shot a lot of grizzly single bevels as well. They are pretty easy to get a nice edge on, they make a "S" shaped hole going in and coming out.( have taken a few chucks and two does) I wouldn't say they are the broad head to end all broad heads but they work. Its easy to get caught up in all the Ed Ashby stuff about one type of head will give you two hundred thousands more penetration then another. They make a hole, they sharpen easy and they kill deer. 

It has nothing to with getting "caught up" in his reports. Who else has done the extensive testing with all types of heads on all types of large game to come up with one that works the best? Can't think of any others that have so to say don't worry about his research at all is just silly.

Comparing modern day Heads to tests from decades ago is like comparing a Nascar car to a model T.

As many things once thought to be gospel have proven to be not totally accurate .

There is very little rotation on a Broadhead through an animal due to side pressure on the side surface of the blades .

Blades cut front to back .not side ways .