IGNORED

Scope question

PV216

Got a question for you guys. I've always used slug gun/muzzleloader specific scopes for my muzzleloader or slug gun. What would happen if you put a regular rifle scope on a muzzy or slug gun?

I've researched it and found some people say it's no problem, and other people say the recoil would break the rifle scope.

Example: can you put a leupold vx-1 on a slug gun? Or does it have to be the "slug gun" leupold scope?

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." Thomas Jefferson

gun-1_zpsa5b2d7e3.png

I have a VX-1 on my rifle and never had a problem.  My rifle is a 300 ultra mag with a hell of a punch.  I think it would be fine on any shotgun or muzzy. Just my opinion I am not an expert.  

🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈🏳️‍🌈

It's not a problem.  A well constructed scope is just that, well constructed.  Cheap is cheap.  The principal difference between a "muzzy/slug" scope and a "rifle" scope is the parallax setting.  The former is typically set at 50 or 75 yards.  The latter 100 to 150 yards.

Thanks guys. These are the same things I'm reading online. I might be buying a savage 220 and I'd like to put leupold on it but I'm not sure if I need the "shotgun scope" or not.

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants." Thomas Jefferson

gun-1_zpsa5b2d7e3.png

What would happen if you put a regular rifle scope on a muzzy or slug gun?

First question: what's the warrantee on the scope? ;-)

Any modern scope should be fine. 

I have used Burris Fullfield II's on my ML and 870 with no problems.

Neither a ML or slug gun kick enough to hurt modern glass.  Also, it's really not the kick that is the problem.

Big guns with muzzle breaks and even smaller spring guns were culprits in killing glass in the old days due to the way they shook the scope.