IGNORED

Manasquan WMA - pheasants?

Swedish Hunter

Took my son to the youth day a few weeks ago and he enjoyed it a lot so I promised we would try again on our own. I understand things can get pretty crazy on the weekends so would like to avoid the worst crowds if possible. Wednesday he has a half day in school so I was looking to try the PM. If I read the schedule right they stock it on Monday evening, I imagine there will still be some birds around after a couple of days or no? Also, is it only worthwhile hunting the fields or the surrounding woods too? Any advice appreciated, total newbie at this and would like my kid to have a good time and at least a chance at a bird. thanks in advance.

Manasquan WMA is just about my backyard.  I hunt that piece often.  I always buy the pheasant stamp because without fail, I will always kick up a few birds per season if hunting midweek.  Just like @archer36 said, get a bit off the beaten path where the fields meet the woodline and you might kick up a few.  Feel free to PM me, I can show you and your son some decent spots where I usually have luck.  There are a bunch of squirrel honey holes in that little piece of woods too. 

It’s very good place after the crowd leaves.  Stocking days in the afternoons you will find birds with no dog. Just avoid shooting time in the morning.  I  Went a week ago Saturday and made it 50 feet in the field and people were shooting at each other and it was a total chaotic clusterfuck, needless to say I turned around a went home.   Game wardens need to put some work in over there and make it safer.  

7 minutes ago, Winetree said: