IGNORED

Smoker recommendation

I want to get a smoker for spring into summer.  I want to do the typical spreads.  Pork butt, brisket, chicken, ribs even fish.  That being said I don’t want to spend too much as it won’t be used super often in my house.  I looked into pit boss but it’s a bit too big and too much money for what I need.  If I was using every week it would be justified but I might use it 5 times a year.   Anyone have any luck with the basic master built electric analogs you can get at Home Depot for $150-$200???? Any help is appreciated!

so many people are all about electric smokers or pellet. i like to keep my smoker simple. plus i like using real wood. not a man made pellet. i have been using a traditional barrel type smoker for 5 years now and everything i smoke comes out great. yes there is more babysitting then other types but once you have a good layer of coal and add wet or dry chunks of real wood it smokes for hours. you will learn how to adjust the vents quickly. plus i use mine as my grill as well. 

that my view on it anyway. everyone has their own preferences. good luck on what you choose

I dabbled in smoking but was not real big into it. I used "cheap" bullet smokers and replaced them every few years. When I decided to go bigger, I bought a Masterbuilt 40 inch electric bluetooth model. It was great for a year. I loved the ease of wood chip loading and the bluetooth device you can carry to monitor time and temp. The second year I had to replace control unit. Not bad at $35. Third year the bottom hinge pin on the door went bad. Difficult to open and close. The CS at Masterbuilt sucks so far. Last year they blamed it on Covid but it's still bad. I got the unit for a great price on Amazon ($300). I am going to deal with it until other issues arise. I am looking into other models that may be more reliable/durable. 

Edited by archer36