IGNORED

i bought a stationary bike

Kype

i am no excerise expert by any means. but over the past year i felt my self getting winded walking up stairs at work. yes im a smoker. not proud of it, but i am. so last month i bought a stationary bike for my basement. i have been picking away at it over the last month. i started at easy peddeling for a mile. just to get going. my last ride was 3 miles in 15 min. and tonight i just did 10 miles in 38 min. machine said i burned 344 calories. 

is this a good time? i have no idea whats a good time versus miles with biking. the last bike i had there wan engine and put 15,000 miles on it. 

before and after riding i do 30 pushups. so tonight was a total of 60 pushups and riding 10 miles in 38 min. 

Edited by Kype

1 minute ago, not on the rug said:

I don't know what good times are for stationary bikes, but I'm happy to hear that you're doing that and some pushups.  Now quit smoking!

Agreed.  Kype you owe it to yourself to give them suckers up!!!  I would judge how you are doing by how you feel when done.  45 mins on a bike is a great cardio workout and like Phil said, the push ups are a great finish for some weight movement. Keep it up

18 minutes ago, Tuck said:

Agreed.  Kype you owe it to yourself to give them suckers up!!!  I would judge how you are doing by how you feel when done.  45 mins on a bike is a great cardio workout and like Phil said, the push ups are a great finish for some weight movement. Keep it up

i feel fine afterwards. just legs feel alittle like jello, but havent peddeled a bike since i was 17. 33 now. 

thanks. 

Any time/distance you put in is good, especially if just starting out.

When on the bike, rather than focusing on time per mile, keep your heart rate up. Depending on your age   and what not anywhere from 120-150 BPM will be a great workout! 

Getting started is the hardest part, hats off to you

4 hours ago, Haskell_Hunter said: