IGNORED

Mentor needed for new waterfowl/goose hunter

Eyesofthewoods

I’ve been hunting for years and while I’ve gone a handful of times with my buddies in PA, I have little experience with geese/duck hunting.  Obviously I need all the gear like calls, waiters, decoys etc...  but more then that I don’t know where to even start.  

It’s something I’d like to get into.  I’m located in Morris county NJ and if there is anyone who wouldn’t mind a tag along I’d be happy to go for the coming season in 2021.  thanks!

If you think deer hunting is bad, waterfowl is ten times worse lol. Guys keep their mouth shut and aren’t too quick to welcome others in. It’s a limited resource in the Atlantic flyway so guys want to keep things to themselves. I’m new to it myself. 1. Get ready to pony up some money for equipment. 2. Scout, scout, scout...there’s more scouting involved then you can imagine. The birds are constantly moving, so what is good today can be gone tomorrow, but fresh intel from scouting is a must. Learning to call is tricky. Spend a lot of time doing it, it just takes time but comes with practice.

I think a lot of people aren’t so welcoming because it takes a lot of work to put together a successful hunt. Some guys put in a lot of work and a lot of money and they hate when someone just tags along and hasn’t contributed anything. A big help is YouTube. It’s where I’ve learned a lot of what I do know to this point. I have a group I hunt with now and they appreciate the amount of work that I do put in and contribute and they help by teaching me the rest. 

On 1/11/2021 at 10:03 AM, Jcol6268 said: