IGNORED

Are compound crossbows easier to draw back than recurves?

This may be a dumb question, and I know for vertical bows it holds true, but are compound crossbows easier to draw back than recurves? Bought my son a “brand new” never used Excalibur Axiom for his 10th birthday. We were shooting it for the first time last night and he was not able to get it cocked back by himself. He’s obviously going to need to be able to do this to take his field course for his archery license. I’m not sure what to do, whether I should try and trade it for a compound, or maybe we can hit the weight room with some deadlifts and seated rows and get his muscles up (just kidding obviously). Anyone else run into this? This is the first crossbow I’ve ever used I have no experience in the game, I’ve always used a vertical bow

37 minutes ago, the truth said:

I’m not sure what to do, whether I should try and trade it for a compound, or maybe we can hit the weight room with some deadlifts and seated rows and get his muscles up (just kidding obviously). 

My two girls trained for 2 years up to their 10th birthdays, so they had the strength to pull back a 35 pound compound bow for the test.  If they couldn't do it they couldn't hunt.   I think training is a good idea.  Be an accomplishment for him.

Edited by Nomad

Take him to a decently stocked shop and see what they have. Some are easier to cock than others. Even if you don’t buy you can do some in person research. I might also suggest that along with the crossbow get him a starter recurve or longbow. He will have a blast with that. 

According to Bork holder archery .

‘their ext crank can be retrofitted to all their models .

says a call to Excalibur will let you know what is the best attachment method for each xbow they have made 

Captain Dan Bias

REELMUSIC SPORTFISHING

50# Striper live release club.

http://reelmusicsportfishing.blogspot.com/

1 minute ago, hammer4reel said:

According to Bork holder archery .