IGNORED

It's true - Cabelas refuses to sell shotguns to New Jersey residents (or..... maybe not)

mazzgolf

I just live-chatted with a Cabelas customer support rep and directly asked them, "I heard Cabelas will refuse to sell shotguns to New Jersey residents. Is this true?"

I was told, yes, it is true.

Cabelas has officially gone down the toilet.

UPDATE: I called the DE store and they told me that is not true - if you have an FID they will sell NJ residents rifles or shotguns that are legal to own in NJ.

Edited by mazzgolf

1 minute ago, Shakyjake said:

I believe that they only stopped the online sales. 

I specifically asked, "If I am a NJ resident and I physically walk into a Cabelas store, will you sell me a shotgun" - and I got a very direct answer - "no".

I don't think it is limited to online sales - I never even mentioned "online" and I explicitly mentioned "walking into a physical Cabelas store".

17 minutes ago, mazzgolf said:

I just live-chatted with a Cabelas customer support rep and directly asked them, "I heard Cabelas will refuse to sell shotguns to New Jersey residents. Is this true?"

I was told, yes, it is true.

Cabelas has officially gone down the toilet.

Time to flush them.

Here's the actual chat:

[01:29:42 PM]Me: Question: If a New Jersey resident physically goes to the Cabelas store in Delaware, can that NJ resident buy a shotgun? I am hearing rumors that Cabelas will refuse to sell shotguns to NJ residents, even if that person physically goes to an out of state Cabelas store
[01:29:57 PM]Ian: One moment please.
[01:32:11 PM]Ian: We wouldn't be able to sell a NJ resident a shotgun, I do apologize.
[01:32:40 PM]Me: and so it begins. OK. well. Cabelas has really gone downhill since the merger. Oh well.
[01:33:57 PM]Ian: I do apologize for the inconvenience, but this is due to the recent New Jersey legislation on firearms that we just follow.