IGNORED

First time tips

splitArrowFarm

Hello All,
1st time poster.... I am new to Mercer County and Deer hunting in general.  I find myself confused by the regulations for when to use what and where. I am hoping you experienced hunters might be able to share some of the specifics when it comes to deer hunting.

Example: Shot Gun Season just passed but I believe it only is extended ?, ok  I AM LATE to the game, but Jan 2nd to Feb based on regulations page it looks like I can hunt then?. I have a basic Mossberg 500 and want to follow all the rules even though I will be hunting on my own land.

Do I need anything special besides a 12 Gauge shotgun and some patience?

What type of ammo must I use?

Is there a butcher which handles the packaging on site (other then myself who has no one to show me how)?

Also what happened to hunting with an old .30-.30? Is there a time of year in NJ that it is allowed?

I dont know anyone out here and am getting confused with NJ rules/regulations from all the online sources. Appreciate any guidance!

Thanks all 

Edited by splitArrowFarm

Rifles are not allowed for deer in NJ except for ML rifles. As for the extended seasons you need to look up the zone you are hunting in and check the approved dates for that specific zone. The Compendium is available online at the Fish and Game site. The link is http://www.eregulations.com/newjersey/hunting/ 

It is a long read but a must read if you are going to hunt. Late season deer is by zone specific permit and dates vary by zone so make sure you understand the zones before you go out.

Edited by bushden

HONOR THE FALLEN
https://thefallen.militarytimes.com/
Over the years the US has sent many of its fine young men & women into great peril to fight for freedom beyond our borders. The only amount of land we have ever asked for in return, is enough to bury those that did not return. COLIN POWELL