not on the rug

The Carnivore Diet

I'm going to be embarking on this semi-strange journey for the next few months just to test my body a little bit and see where it takes me.  Has anyone ever toyed with this idea before?  I remember listening to Dr. Shawn Baker (probably the most well-known carnivore), as well as both Jordan Peterson and his daughter Mikhaila talk about not only surviving, but absolutely thriving on a pure carnivore diet.  

This concept, much like other restrictive dietary choices, isn't necessarily about what you eat, it's about what you don't eat and the focus of that is eliminating inflammatory foods, problem foods, non-foods, etc.  As a little background, I've been eating in a Paleo/Ancestral manner for nearly 11 years now. Meat, seafood, veggies, some fruit, nuts/seeds/spices and very little dairy.  The only grains that I'll consume are white rice, wild rice, and oatmeal, but only occasionally. I've also dabbled in the VLC and Keto worlds before they were cool or trendy and had great success with improved health markers.  The only thing that Keto/VLS impedes for me is high performance, high output activities.  My heavy lifting suffers, my sprinting suffers, my boxing suffers.  So I learned to carb cycle on the high output days and that worked well for me.  

Anyway, back to the experiment.  Nothing but meat, seafood and eggs.  Plenty of beef, venison, seafood, some pork and chicken, organ meats at least once weekly, etc.   Various salts (Pink Himalayan, Black Hawaiian and Celtic Sea).  Probably some pepper.  Coffee and Tea.  Plenty of water.  

I'm going to continue with the Intermittent Fasting that I've been doing for a while now.  18hrs of fasting, 6 hour eating window.  I typically eat between Noon and 6pm and then fast after that.  

Exercise will be a month of daily yoga.  I'm going to pause the lifting, boxing and other activities for now and just focus on the daily yoga.  I'll reassess exercise on March 1st.