IGNORED

Welding Questions

I have zero experience welding but looking to learn enough to do some basic welding. I have a future project in mind that will require me to weld steel to steel. I want to buy a welder but seeing as how I'm just going to be playing around with it for now I don't want to go crazy. So my questions are

1. What type of welding should I be looking to do? My research suggests either MIG or stick (SMAW) would fit my needs the best.

2. What type of welder should I be looking to buy? I don't want to spend a ton of money but I also don't want to buy a welder that isn't robust enough.

3. Are there any important bells and whistles that I should look for in a welder?

Thank you in advance.

It depends on what kind of welding you will be doing. Believe it or not, for a garage project, a Harbor Freight machine will do fine. The 110 stick machines won't work well for thicker metals. A mig will allow you to fill in thicker metal. Duty cycle only becomes important if you are welding for a long continuous time. Hobby welding shouldn't be an issue.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

In would skip over 120 volt machines and get a 220 volt machine.   For basic mild steel jobs a stick welder would cost less than a mig welder.  The biggest draw back is stick welding takes more skill than spurting some metal wire.   I would also get a DC machine.  You will have more options when it comes to welding rod.  What type  of jobs do you have planned? 

Edited by CJ3a

I spent most of my money on hunting and fishing. The rest I just wasted.

6 minutes ago, CJ3a said:

In would skip over 120 volt machines and get a 220 volt machine.   For basic mild steel jobs a stick welder would cost less than a mig welder.  The biggest draw back is stick welding takes more skill than spurting some metal wire.   I would also get a DC machine.  You will have more options when it comes to welding rod.  What type  of jobs do you have planned?