johnyanu

tree stands

10 minutes ago, Buck154 said:

Ladder, hang on or climber?

whatever is cheaper this is my first year hunting with a bow. And not that hard to set up

Id  get a 16’ single ladder stand, you have to assemble but flip over lock bottom rung to base of tree and walk it up, then tie two tag lines around tree to a bottom rung in a “X” pattern, carefully climb and put ratchet strap around top part to tree. Also there’s a support that flips up off ladder rung to tree. I like them nice and stable wear a harness to be safe when hunting.

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, johnyanu said:

Best low price tree stands for bow hunting?

What's your price range and location..  sportsmans guide has a stand n stick cambo for 65 bucks..  climbers range from 80 to 400..  I like the x stand I have the sit n climb at 11 lbs it's great and can be had for 150 ish..  all depends..  if you just want somthing to get started and are in the Tom's river area I have some pegs and a stand.

• Like 1

If you want to hunt multiple locations with a single stand, then ladder stands are out of the question.  You then have to decide between (1) climber; (2) hang on w/ sticks.  A climber will be easier to set up and generally more comfortable.  But, you are limited to trees w/o branches (or rather you can only go as high as the first branch that you can't remove).  This can be quite limiting.  If I had to work with a single stand, I'd go with a hang on and sticks.  

For sticks you got 3 popular options:  (i) lone wolf; (ii) hawk helium; (iii) muddy.  They all have their advantages / disadvantages, but I prefer lone wolf.  I go with a set of 4 sticks.  In terms of light weight hang on stands, I'd look at:

Lone Wolf, XOP, and millenium (m60u / m7)

• Like 1

1 minute ago, vdep217 said: