IGNORED

New Bow Suggestions

ModernOutdoorsMan

Looking to upgrade to my compound after this upcoming season. I've been using my beginner bow Bear Crux for about 4-5 years now, and quiet frankly I have no complaints with it. But I am thinking about upgrading to a higher quality model. I'm not overly picky and not really sure where to start. Any suggestions on what I should be considering? 

I'm partial to PSE, but you can't go wrong with Elite, Prime, Hoyt or even Matthews.  Go to the closest good shop and shoot all of the brands they carry.  Buy what feels good to you.  Have it tuned and set up properly.  

Where are you located?  We can steer you in the right direction of a good shop.  

Go to a shop and shoot anything and everything. Once you have figured out what you want, get onto archery talk and look for that bow. My buddy just bought a loaded RX3 Turbo for $1250. The rig has well over $2k into it. Another thing is bow value decreases immensely. You'll be able to buy a year old bow for some ridiculously low prices. 

32 minutes ago, Tbryant said:

Go to a shop and shoot anything and everything. Once you have figured out what you want, get onto archery talk and look for that bow. My buddy just bought a loaded RX3 Turbo for $1250. The rig has well over $2k into it. Another thing is bow value decreases immensely. You'll be able to buy a year old bow for some ridiculously low prices. 

2 grand?You kids are nutsl!!!!!

“In a civilized and cultivated country, wild animals only continue to exist at all when preserved by sportsmen.” -Theodore Roosevelt

Today's bows are all good, you need to handle as many as you can. I like Mathews, but a few years ago as i do when buying i handle as many as I can, Hoyt I liked the draw but the handle I didn't like at all. I ended up getting a Mathews Z2, not their top of the line bow at the time,price point was great, and I put too qualify accories on, it was exactly what I liked,