IGNORED

Making my first pulled pork. How do you do it?!?

After many years of owning a smoker I am finally giving it a real go. I have an electric master built smoker. I bought an 8lb pork shoulder to do a test run this weekend for next weekends actual bbq. I found some recipes online but want to hear how some of you guys do it.  Temps, time (7.5lbs), dry rub vs wet, marinade etc.  I really only can devote the time on Sunday and waking up early is no problem!  Thanks!

Dry rub for few hrs or overnight and then it’s just time in the smoker. Smoke for 2 to 3 hrs and then just let the heat do the job. Follow your recipe for how long but it will take about +_ 12 hrs at 200. Inside temp of meet will tell you when it’s done. That’s the key, temperature not the time. Little too long and it will be dry, not enough time and it will not be cooked 

will wait for pics

Like Haskell said, LOW and SLOW. No Need to check it by pulling the lid off. Let it COOK. I have learned lots by just listening to others on the site who have been there before. Look up some of the threads in the smoker section for very useful tips. Good luck, post pics! :up:

2 hours ago, TouchofGrey said:

All good tips, especially cook to Temp. 203...and thermometer should go in like hot knife in butter. Plan an hour plus per pound at 225 or so. Pork is very forgiving. Load cooler up now and go through past thread it's going to be good eats.

203 seams little high. I go to 190 and let it rest. Maybe 13 degrees makes no difference 

3 hours ago, Lunatic said:

203 seams little high. I go to 190 and let it rest. Maybe 13 degrees makes no difference