IGNORED

Bucktail Jig Hook Help Needed.........

rocky

I am new to making bucktails and I need help buying the correct hooks for the molds that I have. I ordered a few different sizes and I am done wasting money. I need a person who has the molds and can point me in the right direction.

The first mold is a Do-It Ultra Minnow Jig Mold sizes 5oz-6oz-8oz. I purchased 100 of the Mustad 9/0  O'Shaughnessy jig hooks and they seem huge.

The second mold is a Do-It Ultra Minnow Jig mold sizes 2oz-3oz-4oz. I purchased 25 of the Gamakatsu 8/0 heavy wire jig hooks but, the eye hole is too small to use with this mold.

Thank you in advance.

Plus, if you know  a good place to get Bucktail hair that would be appreciated.

Edited by rocky

1 minute ago, rocky said:

I am new to making bucktails and I need help buying the correct hooks for the molds that I have. I ordered a few different sizes and I am done wasting money. I need a person who has the molds and can point me in the right direction.

The first mold is a Do-It Ultra Minnow Jig Mold sizes 5oz-6oz-8oz. I purchased 100 of the Mustad 9/0  O'Shaughnessy jig hooks and they seem huge.

The second mold is a Do-It Ultra Minnow Jig mold sizes 2oz-3oz-4oz. I purchased 25 of the Gamakatsu 8/0 heavy wire jig hooks but, the eye hole is too small to use with this mold.

Thank you in advance.

If you want the better hooks you have to modify the mold for the eye. Dremel the area down so the eyelet will fit over it. Use the Mustad Ultra Point 32786BN hooks or the Gamakatsu.  

43 minutes ago, rocky said:

Thank you in advance.

Plus, if you know  a good place to get Bucktail hair that would be appreciated.

Where are you located.

“In a civilized and cultivated country, wild animals only continue to exist at all when preserved by sportsmen.” -Theodore Roosevelt

53 minutes ago, Buck154 said: