Zipper

Snake Identification

My buddy saw this guy on the golf course in South Carolina. He thinks it's a copperhead.

FB_IMG_1555254087929.jpg

I really cant see the shape of the head but with the markings it could also be a corn snake..  but I'm no expert

• Like 1
  • Agree 1
  • Winner 1

2 minutes ago, Coyoteslayer said:

Here is a corn snake. Markings do look similar. 

Screenshot_20190414-112335_Chrome.jpg

That's why I mentioned the head..  if its shaped more like an arrow it's a copper head if it's more in line with body its corn snake

Posted (edited)
19 minutes ago, vdep217 said:

it could also be a corn snake..  

That would be my guess too.  The other possibility is the eastern milk snake.  Not a copperhead though.    

Edited by Rusty
  • Like 2
  • Agree 1

Big bastard. Not a copperhead, I agree..

• Like 2

7 hours ago, Zipper said:

My buddy saw this guy on the golf course in South Carolina. He thinks it's a copperhead.

FB_IMG_1555254087929.jpg

Well what I have found is Copperheads and Rattlesnakes are usually short and fat, I think the longest Rattlesnake I have ever seen was 4 feet long but very thick . Even this copperhead in this picture is less then 4 feet long but it has a thick body. Both of these were by my house in Stillwater NJ, I am no expert on snakes but I know enough not to touch them , if they are on a road I scoot them off, if in the woods I retreat and walk around ( With my eyes a little more open !) them .

My neighbor got bit in the leg by a copperhead 4 years ago ( in his vegetable garden) and was in the hospital for 5 days, walked with a cane for 3 months and still walks a little funny today, they are serious.