robk09

Basic NJ Hunting Tips

Hello everyone

Im just beginning to get into the sport, and I currently have no knowledge of where, when and how I am allowed to hunt.

Where can I hunt in NJ? Are there specific areas? 

What are the hunting season dates for deer, and small game? How many can I hunt in a day?

What firearms and ammo am I allowed to use?

Thanks everyone

Posted (edited)

Did you take any safety course test's?

Edited by hunterbob1

Rob follow the link below and get the course materials. It will answer a lot of your questions. After that pick up a copy of the regulations(same place), also available on the fish and wildlife website, read them front to back...every year as they change.

Hunter’s Ed Material

1 minute ago, robk09 said:

Im taking a course in May

Good.Bow or gun?Most all your questions are answered in the NJ hunting and trapping digest.

Posted (edited)

Welcome to the site.

Here's a list of public lands that you can hunt.  It's a journey, you'll learn as you go and make lots of mistakes.  Learn from the mistakes and most importantly, have fun.  Best of luck.  :up:

https://njfishandwildlife.com/huntland.htm

Edited by Rusty

Most of us made many mistakes along the way and continue to do so 45 years later. Do not measure your success by what game you kill or how many. Measure it by the enjoyment you get by just being out there. Measure it by the amount of new friends you meet in the woods and fields. Because those times in the field create great memories that last a lifetime. And some of the people you meet will become great friends (and it is always good to have others to help you drag a deer every now and then.) for a lifetime. Good luck and enjoy the journey.

• Like 2

Best bet- find someone local on here. Buy them a beer and ask a million questions. 

Pick animal

pick weapon

practice

scout

practice some more

read digest front to back when it comes out

have fun! 

• Agree 1