IGNORED

Hunting, A Rich Mans Sport............pic

rocky

I am in no way rich or poor but, I feel sorry for the young guys starting out hunting and want to hunt out West. The pic below is just what I had to put upfront to apply for one state and I do apply in several others. When I started buying elk landowner tags in New Mexico years ago I could pick up a land owner bull tag for $500.00 dollars. Now they go for $5,000.00-$12,000.00. How can a young man afford this type of hunting that I enjoyed as a young man at those prices? 

55489149_10214407546688714_2334688975941

Now if you think the money is the worst part of it Nay Nay my friend. :nonono: The bonus point draw is pretty crappy also. I have been applying for tags that I will probably never see in my lifetime and they charge you every year to maintain and accumulate these bonus points. These numbers below are from last year so I have been applying for 24 years now without drawing a dessert bighorn tag and I probably never will.

53503839_10214407594009897_3549875424597

6 minutes ago, Nomad said:

How much for a resident?  $10?

NM Resident   elk $90.00

NM resident deer  $41.00

NM resident sheep $160.00

I honestly like when other states charge a non-resident what "THEIR" state charges non-residents. I am not sure if some states do that still but it made a lot of sense to me.

Yeah. For out of state hunting it's crazy. Out of country also crazy. The average guy can afford to hunt in his home state fairly reasonably. There is archery equipment and guns that could be had very reasonably. Beyond that it's a "rich" person's sport to enjoy if you want to do a lot of it. Maybe the average "Joe" can muster up a few deer hunts or an elk hunt. Once you get into Moose, Sheep, etc in Alaska and Canada, it gets real tough. 

Edited by archer36