Bowhunter2004

Anyone have arthroscopic surgery for torn meniscus?

I’m scheduled for February 22nd,  Ive been told that there isn’t much to it, but just wondering if anyone had it done and what to expect. I was a carpet installer for 14 years when I was a kid, I tore the meniscus way back then and just let it heal, but I  tore it again pretty bad a week before Christmas and it just isn’t getting better this time. Dr said it’s a 10 minute procedure, Im hoping for a quick recovery, I have a lot to do end of next month. 

I had 70% of mine removed.  How bad is it right now?

Edited by Nomad

Had the only butcher available do it 40 years ago and it was terrible. Had a very good surgeon repeat 20 years ago and it was nothing, back to light work and walking fine 3 days later.  I also had both knees replaced 4 years ago at the same time and didn't think that was to bad either.

• Like 1

I had mine repaired in September, I think it was a Tuesday, I was hunting on the weekend and back in the gym the next week.  Nothing to it, just give yourself 2-3 days of ice and rest.

• Like 1

The surgical technology is awesome. You will be walking normal in 24 to 48 HRS. Good luck and have a smooth recovery. 

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

1 hour ago, Nomad said:

I had 70% of mine removed.  How bad is it right now?

I think he said 25% medial tear. Very little arthritis in the knee, Dr said the knee bones look very good.  It’s actually feeling a little bit better today, but the last few years I am unable to squat or kneel with the right leg. I’m sick of it. I’m really hoping to get pain free mobility and flexibility back.  I hope that’s not asking for to much. If that’s unrealistic, I’m better off not having the procedure. 

Was supposed to have mine done seven years ago. While waiting to go in for surgery the nurse came in and said the doctor is ill and the surgery wouldn't take place today. Hasn't bothered me since.

Edited by ithaca10
  • Like 3