IGNORED

New Muzzleloader

Bad64chevelle

After all this time I have finally decided to purchase my first muzzleloader . I picked up a CVA optima v2 this morning , some primers , some triple7 pellets , and some traditions 250g (hornady sst) . I plan to head to colliers or r14 this upcoming week and begin to sight it in . 

I'd like to hear from any of you who may own one what your setup powder and bullet are . 

Ive heard good and bad things about the powerbelt , not sure what your take is on them . I'm completely new to this , I've only fired a muzzleloader once or twice since I took my hunter education . Also any advice for a rookie muzzleloader hunter ? Thanks all have a great weekend . 

I use and love powerbelt, 245gr HP.  I keep it simple, 100gr (2 pellets) of pyrodex and I’m good to go.  Prepare to spend some time at the range learning the nuances of your gun.  You’ll read a lot of varying opinions about sighting in and shooting, keeping zero, clean barrel-fouled barrel, etc.  put the time in and it will be well worth it, of all the rifles I own I trust my muzzy most (T/C Encore). 

First off good luck with your new toy!!!

Stay away from Powebelts, they group well but they are crap on game. I love the 250 grain BARNES T-EZ, accurate and deadly on game.  I don't own a CVA, but they are excellent.  I do use the above mentioned BARNES, with two pellets of TRIPLE 7 MAGNUM PELLETS from my TC TRIUMPH 

I used Powerbelts for many years primarily because they were easy to load in a fouled barrel. The last ones I used were the Aerolites. They are relatively expensive. Everything I shot with them died easily. I have been using a specialized muzzle loader bullet called Scorpion PT Gold for a few years and are happy with them. Loading is fairly easy even in a moderately fouled barrel.