IGNORED

Zone 6 & 8 Deer Hunting

WI_Hunter

Hey  - I'm brand new to New Jersey, coming from Wisconsin where I did a lot of bow hunting.  I'm located near the State Park on Lake Hopatcong.

Looking for any tips/suggestions or anyone that has hunted around this area.  I've scoured the topo maps and internet and it seems like these are the best options near me:

Allamuchy Mountain State Park, Berkshire Valley WMA, Rockaway River WMA and Weldon Brook WMA.  It also looks like there are special permits for the Mahlon Dickerson Reservation.

I figure between all these areas I have over 10,000 acres of hunting so looking for some suggestions on narrowing this down, places to avoid, places to put high on the list.  Any other areas I am missing?

Hoping to get out this weekend to do some scouting and maybe some still hunting looking for some spots.

Thanks!

Welcome WI.

You are off to a good start. You will find out shortly that here in NJ hunting land is like gold. We have a lot of hunters in this state and barely enough public land to utilize.

I honestly dont know much about the spots you have listed, as i dont hunt public land much at all. I would have to guess any wooded land in nj will hold Deer. Pick one convenient and give it a go.

My highest reccomendation is to carry your gear in and out or lock it up real good on public land. A few sour apples get extremely protective on their public land spots and will make your life miserable until you give up. That's the horrible truth on nj public land. Sad to say.

I've offered help to others on public forums and been called a "spot burner" by others that hunted there, so now I keep my advise to myself to not piss off someone else in trying to help another. Im sure you understand.

I hope you dont encounter much of that wherever you end up.

good luck!

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

I should also add...
Dont think nj is just full of scum..