IGNORED

New to Zone 3

ImNewToThis

Hey folks,

This will be my first bow season in zone 3 and I'm planning on heading into Abram S. Hewitt SF. This is my first attempt at hunting public land so I'm fairly hesitant about the whole process. If anyone  here has any experience in hunting public land, or Hewitt SF specifically, I would greatly appreciate any helpful advice. My biggest concern is stepping on other hunter's toes. Anyone here familiar with Hewitt and willing to chat?

Thanks!
Jake

Be prepared to spend long hours in the stand and don’t get discouraged if you don’t see anything back there. Zone 3 is funny in that you can sit somewhere 8 times and not see a doe, then on day #9 see 3 shooters. I live in west milford and have hunted her for almost 20 years now. It’s a fickle b*tch, but if you can kill deer here you can kill deer anywhere in the state. It’s rugged, it’s thick, the deer numbers are low, and the competition is high, but every year someone knocks down a bruiser. 

If you ever ever need help or advice, or even just wanna bounce ideas off me, shoot me a PM and I’ll send you my number. Always a good idea to have someone who can help you drag when you’re hunting in WM. You learn quickly just how heavy a 140lb buck can be when you’re a mile off the road in mountain laurel.

Ken

Edited by Pqreturn62

7 hours ago, Pqreturn62 said:

Be prepared to spend long hours in the stand and don’t get discouraged if you don’t see anything back there. Zone 3 is funny in that you can sit somewhere 8 times and not see a doe, then on day #9 see 3 shooters. I live in west milford and have hunted her for almost 20 years now. It’s a fickle b*tch, but if you can kill deer here you can kill deer anywhere in the state. It’s rugged, it’s thick, the deer numbers are low, and the competition is high, but every year someone knocks down a bruiser.