IGNORED

Recreating an Antler from Scratch

Rusty

Our daughter shot a nice 5.5 year old, 130" 8 pointer during winter bow but it had dropped its left side.  After the shot it dropped its right side as well.  I couldn't find the left shed so I'm attempting to recreate it from scratch.  The buck was extremely symmetrical so I just need to copy the right side.

I've never tried this before so this could be an epic fail.   :rofl:

Here's how we found the buck after she shot it.  

Shed buck .jpeg

Framed it out with heavy gauge wire. 

Antler.jpeg

Added a layer of epoxy.

Antler 3.jpeg

Fleshed it out with more epoxy.

Antler 3.jpeg

Finished putting epoxy on the tines.

Antler 4.jpeg

Working on the base.

Antler 5.jpeg

Finished the browtine.  Now it's time to sand it down, add the details, then color it.

Antler 6.jpeg

3 hours of sanding later.

Antler 7.jpeg

Added details to the base. 

Antler 8.jpeg

Almost got the coloring right.

Antler 9.jpeg

All done.

Antler 11.jpeg

Epoxied the antlers back onto the skull.

Shed Mount .jpeg

buck.jpeg

Edited by Rusty

Not laughing Rusty. :up: I like your willingness to try to do something new and different. My only fear is that it will take a lot of epoxy to fill the mass. If you can weld a little maybe starting off with thin rebar may be a better option. I am looking forward to the finished product.

Plus the epoxy will stick a lot better to the rebar compared to the smooth wire.

Edited by rocky

Best of luck Rusty. You can do it. Keep in mind, I was talking to ASFTAX earlier and he said he was repairing two broken brow tines on a customer's deer head he is mounting. He was saying the reason why it is so costly to repair tines is because of the cost of the epoxy and materials used to create the points...

Edited by LPJR