IGNORED

Blind vs. Tree Stand

sjusean

On public land I don't like to use anything that advertises the fact that I'm hunting in a particular spot.  I like to just use natural cover.  

Private land I like ladder stands because they are easy to get in and comfy.

Blinds are nice when the weather is rough but I don't like not being able to see what's going on all around me.   

I hunt on a hill that doesn't have old mast on it, so a climber is out of the question.  I have been hunting a blind for the past three years and love it.  Keeps the bugs away and the inclement weather.

Unlike Rusty, I can turn my head all the way around and see out the three windowed sides of my blind.  It's 270°, which is more than enough area to scout.  I've had deer sneak up behind me, but they usually never notice me.  Turkey are too stupid to know there's anyone in the blind.

However, in the cold north woods of NH the pines are really thick as are the open fields.  I'm going to bring my climber up there with me next year to schlep up a tree to get a better view.  I hunt with a .30-06 up there, so that'll give me a great vantage point with a weapon that can reach out and whack deer at a distance.  Different kind of hunting up there, so it's good to have options.  I'll probably bring my small doghouse blind up with me too so my buddy's dad can hunt from it close to the car.

Edited by Haskell_Hunter

Sapere aude.

Audeamus.

When you cannot measure, your knowledge is meager and unsatisfactory.

If you have never hunted out of a stand I would try a blind first. As a new hunter you can get away with more movement without spooking anything. If you are going to buy a stand