IGNORED

Tried some new bows...Wow factor achieved.

DV1

A little background first. I love shooting bows. Practice is not a chore, it's something I love to do. I've been shooting all kinds of bows for 40+ years. I am not brand specific and I've never felt compelled to do one of these reviews before. I will stay with a bow until I find another one that really makes me go WOW, gotta have it. 

I also have bad shoulders. I've had 2 surgeries on my right shoulder, need a surgery on my left to repair a torn labrum and rotator cuff. The last surgery on my right shoulder went horribly wrong: repair came undone, nerve damage, bone wear, etc and I never regained full use of my right arm. I can use it for most things but just about anything over my head, or above shoulder height is tough. Seen 3 surgeons, all told me my days of doing many things; throwing overhand, tennis, golf, kayaking, and yes, shooting a bow, among others, were OVER. 

Well, I can still shoot some but a few dozen arrows every other day is about it. I'm still working on it and hope by next spring, I can improve on that too, assuming my next surgery doesn't completely put me out of commission.

So, being the hopeful sort that I am, I want to start looking at my present to myself for getting over my third surgery. I've been looking for a new bow in the 30-31 ATA range. My SBXT is still my go to bow. I've shot many, many others but none had that WOW factor that made me want to buy new. I've bought plenty of year old ones; Bowtec, Martin, Hoyt, Mathews and Bear but got rid of them all and stayed with the Switchback. Today I went and tried a few more; the Halon 6, Hoyt Defiant and Prime Ion, all at 28" DL, set on 60#. Here is what I found.

Tried the Ion first. I honestly had trouble getting it back. I could have drawn it, probably, but it also would have hurt me. So, that was out of the running.