IGNORED

What do you do with the fur after the kill

iluv2hunt

So I'm kind of new to predetor hunting. I'm just wondering what everyone does with the fur after the kill. Can you sell it similar to what trappers do? I have killed a nice coyote and red fox and I'm having the pelts tanned to hang in my trophy room but after that how many can you really use.

I've not done this (yet) but I have heard you can sell them to those that will buy them (I think they call this "buying in the round" - buying "green" means skinned but that's all - so you can sell "green", too, if you know how to skin them) - meaning you can sell the carcass to someone who will then do what it is they do to sell the fur and they keep the money on the fur sale.

So you sell a yote to them that you just killed for something like $5, and they take it, skin it, and prepare the fur and they sell it on the open market and hopefully they make a profit.

Of course, you need to take care of the carcass before selling it - if you screw up the fur, you'll just have to throw it away in your trash :)

When I last researched this, I found two folks in south Jersey that buy like this - this was a couple years ago, I don't know if they still buy green or in the round but they were: (1) Newt (Snare One, in Port Republic) and (2) T. Zander & Sons in West Deptford.

You could contact http://www.newjerseytrappers.org/ and ask them this question, also.

Edited by mazzgolf

I am new to trapping, going to put my first sets out today and was wondering the same thing. I am in Hunterdon County and would like to possibly give some to someone that wants them.

I am in hunterdon county, if you need someone to show you how to put them up let me know. you really only have 2 more weeks of good fur then it gets rubbed bad, with these temps it will probably start sooner. that being said these temps is the best trapping I ever seen I believe. pray for no snow on Thursday