IGNORED

ECollar training

I recently purchased a Sportdog 425 Wetland Hunter to begin reinforcing obedience training with my 8 month old lab. This is my first time training a dog for waterfowl. Anyway, after letting her spend time wearing the collar during training i attempted to use it for the first time today.

After setting her level to where I didnt get much more then a head turn (level 2) i began with heel work. The first time I hit it she yelped and cowered. I lowered the transmitter to 1 and she had the same response.

Wondering if anyone else is familiar with this collar? It only has a medium and a high setting where other models have a low and medium. Is the collar too strong or is she being hypersensitive?

Open to any suggestions. This is my first time doing this.

Im really baffled because she was fine initially when i set it and then had this response once we began working.

IMO , you have to get her to understand why the feeling happened .. after you correct her with it you have to just immediately move forward withbwhat ever exercises you are doing as if nothing happened .She’ll get the hang of it ... I have and always will say this .. never use a setting on your dog you haven’t first used on yourself .

The dog should not be yelping from the collar. Be careful. Dogs have been ruined by over stimulation. Does anyone he collar have an audible tone prior to stimulation? Once my dog hears that tone she knows to follow a command b/c she knows the shock is coming.

I think your right on point RDF. I used the device on myself and could barely feel it. I think ill start her with the vibrate function to condition her further before going back to stimulation (i should of did that in the first place probably].

Also, if anyone from SJ area knows of a lab club that trains frequently in SJ please PM me. Id like to have more knowledgeable people to work with in the spring and maybe get her to junior hunt test.

Edited by FowlHooked