IGNORED

Does anyone here play the stock market?

not on the rug

I've never done any sort of investing before, other than the 403b (non-profit's version of a 401k) and I'm looking for some good resources, information, etc.  My father in-law is really in to it, but I don't really speak with him very often and I was just curious if anyone here is in to it.  

I have an MBA in finance.  Simple rules for non-investors:

1. Use Vanguard.  Lowest management fees in the industry, and most (maybe all) funds are no-load.
  2. Buy index funds, not individual stock.  You don't study the market every day, you will lose money.  Funds have managers to do that work for you.
  3. Research the term "balanced portfolio".  You won't start out with this, but you should be aware of the concepts.
  4. Don't look at your investments on a daily basis.  It will drive you insane.
  5. Research the term "dollar averaging".  It will help you understand the value of periodic investment.

Start there before you drop a dime.

Sapere aude.

Audeamus.

When you cannot measure, your knowledge is meager and unsatisfactory.

I suggest being diversified in mutual funds, foreign, and domestic. Individual stocks are a gamble ,you just have to hit the right one. As far as a manager, my wife has one through work and they get  a hefty piece which would have been better spent re-invested .  But it's her job and decision. It's a shame to see her returns vs. money invested. You can't live with them and you can't live without them. JMO.  I like Vanguard and Harbor

Edited by jerseyhunter

I have an MBA in finance.  Simple rules for non-investors:

1. Use Vanguard.  Lowest management fees in the industry, and most (maybe all) funds are no-load.
  2. Buy index funds, not individual stock.  You don't study the market every day, you will lose money.  Funds have managers to do that work for you.
  3. Research the term "balanced portfolio".  You won't start out with this, but you should be aware of the concepts.