IGNORED

shotgun for older gentlemen?

mazzgolf

As most of you know, I started hunting later in life. My dad's hobby of choice when I was growing up was golf on the weekends; he handed that down to me which I brought into adulthood (Unfortunately, since about 10 or so years ago, age and the bad back and joints that go along with that has stopped him from being able to go out golfing with me).

But since I started shooting and hunting, the script has flipped. Once I started showing how much fun I was having shooting handguns and long guns and going out hunting, he has now become interested. Over the past couple years, he got his FID, a 9mm pistol, and a .22 lr rifle for bench shooting, attended hunters ed and got his hunting license. Most recently, he picked up a .17 airgun and we've gone out squirrel hunting a couple times.

Just today he said he would like to look into getting a shotgun (we've gone trap shooting a few times and we enjoy that together - he wants his own gun for that).

So, yes, this is another "what's a good beginner's shotgun to buy" - but the beginner is in his mid-70s  :rofl:  He's shot both my Rem 870 and my semi-auto Beretta, so he knows the basics of shooting. But for a older guy with all the physical limitations that comes with that, is there something he should look for? I suggested looking at a SxS or O/U, that way you don't have to bend over to pick up the spent shells, but I am not sure if the recoil on those are more than, say, a standard semi-auto, and if that bothers a person's back.

Anyway, hopefully you see what I'm getting at. Suggestions for a particular model (or models) of shotgun for a guy in his 70s that basically just wants to go out and shoot trap every now and then, and maybe even go out with his son for perhaps some small game hunting??  :)

At 75 years old I can still handle my 1100 that is some 50 years old.  :up:

You ask a loaded question since opinions ill run amock.

Factors.