IGNORED

first duck hunt ever - this is alot of fun

mazzgolf

Oh boy, I hope I don't get bit by this bug now - something else to cost me money and make the wife annoyed  :D

I was planning on going up in a tree this morning, but I got invited to go on a duck hunt instead. I've never been so, YEAH! I'm in!

It was really fun. My friend invited me and another guy to go out - got us in the boat along with his dog, get to his spot, and got set up. Only had a dozen decoys out, and it seemed to work. Just as shooting time hit, and my buddy started calling, in what seems like seconds we had ducks come out of nowhere and fly right over us at a perfect shooting distance.. I'm looking up and watching them fly by and, being that I've never done this before, I kinda questioned what was going on. "Uhhhh... aren't we supposed to shoot those?"  :rofl: They came so quick and they were so fast all three of us just stared up and watched them fly. We never even had time to reach for our guns it happened so fast. They ended up circling us a few times but never gave us another good shot at them. That was funny - guess you had to be there. Ducks are juuuust a bit faster than geese. :lookaround:

Then we noticed two drake buffleheads and a hen swimming right at us. After watching them for a while, they end up flying right over the decoys - after a volley (most of us missed :)) we ended up with one of the drakes (buffleheads are really a beautiful bird).

I wish I could do more of that. Without a boat or a dog, I'm gonna have to figure out a way to do this by myself. It really is a lot of fun and we didn't even have a lot of action. I can imagine what it's like when the birds are really flying.

I'll be the first to tell you it's hard without a boat.  Spots that easily waded are garbage from what I've found so far this year.  Maybe next year will be different, but damn this is hard...